13849112974_b64422ab60_o

I swear as this week goes on I’m finding less and less free time to do this!  Eep!  I hope some of you readers/D-bloggers feel the same.  Anwyays, here goes.  Below is a list of how I’ve adapted things to suit my diabetes technology (mostly).

First up is for cycling.  This is the Tally Gear Dexcom G4 bike case (yes, that is me she has on her webpage).  This is a key hack for me because I can see my BG anytime I look at my bike computer.  I don’t have to fish around in my jersey.  I also hate riding with a lot of stuff on my bike (it violate the rules of style) – so I really have anywhere else to put it. 🙂  She made adjustments to the case to help it fit my road bars,  Right now it fits great on the flats, but my wife is going to make me longer straps so that I can mount it sideways on the stem itself.  I rarely used the flats in Texas; however, in the hilly terrain of Newfoundland I’ve found myself wanting those flats for some of the climbs.  Still, it’s a great case, and has fended off lots of drizzle and fog.

Tallygear Dexcom Bike Case

Tallygear Dexcom Bike Case

Next up is for rock climbing, but also works for running and other sports.  The SPIbelt (small personal item).  When I am lead climbing I was finding the tubing forever getting in the way of various pieces of protection.  Nothing like trying to untangle tubing from a cam whilst pumping out on lead. 🙂  I usually wear the spibelt under my shirt (tucked into the harness), so this is one instance I’ll use my Ping meter.  It’s also great for ice climbing when you need to keep stuff toasty warm.  I’ve used the SPI for running and holding my food.

SPIbelt with pump

SPIbelt with pump

Next up is my meter case.  Here’s where I seem to differ from most of the D-community I’ve met.  I don’t have a “D-bag” (though I’ve been called one).  I hate bulky diabetes stuff.  The ping meter drove me mental with how huge it was – so I switched to the Verio IQ, and I swear the damn meter bag for that was even BIGGER than the ping bag.  Something had to give.  For now I’m using a Moleskine Shell XS, and it fits much smaller.  Still, I’m looking to go ultralight, so if anyone has any other ideas, let me know!

Moleskine open

Moleskine open

Moleskine closed

Moleskine closed

Finally, the last two are sleep related.  I hate getting tangled up in tubing.  But it always happens – at least until now!  I backed a kickstarter project for Underfuse – little iPhone size iron on pouches.  To them, I added velcro to keep the pocked closed, and then ironed them on to some cheap boxer shorts.  Presto, whamo, no more pump falling out of pocket, tying me in knots, then waking me up with a jolt when I pull to hard on the tubing in my sleep.  It aint pretty, but it works!

Underfused underwear

Underfused underwear

Finally, my wife made me this D-pouch for the side of our bed.  In it, I store my sugar pills, my CGMS, and whatever else I need close to me.  It’s great because I don’t have a bedside table, and it keeps thing nice and clean.  Plus, if the CGMS vibrates it makes a hell of a racket against the bed frame.  The inspiration for this – sofa remote control holders!

Meg's bedside pouch

Meg’s bedside pouch

 

 

